Cardio Works—So Just Do It!!

That's me flexing my developing muscles after a good dose of cardio!

That’s me flexing my developing muscles after a good dose of cardio!

It feels so good to be back—back blogging, back from the plus size department, and more importantly back to a healthier me. But as we all should know this weight loss/healthy living lifestyle is a journey. Nothing happens overnight, that applies to how long it took you to gain that weight and how long it will take you to lose that weight. Rather you want to believe it or not it takes effort, time, and repetition to gain weight!! Let’s face it; it took days of you not counting calories or even considering them, weeks of you saying no to water and yes to flavor, and months of you indulging in trans fattyfast-food restaurants at all hours of the day and night!

And so after a year of putting ALL of your effort towards gratifying your taste buds repetitively, you realize that things aren’t what they used to be and you’ve begun to not like what you see. At that moment you have a choice to make—you could continue on your road to self-destruction or you could really get fed up and not just talk about it, but do something about it! I’ve mentioned in my previous post that everything doesn’t work for everybody so you should find out what works for you. Well there is an exception to that statement and the exception is my final main tip for you to apply on your journey: CARDIO, it works so just do it!! Every tip that I’ve mentioned up to this point have helped me develop better eating habits but my “healthy lifestyle equation” was not complete until I added Cardio to it!!

It’s so important that you get your eating habits under control before you decide that you’re going to exercise or else your efforts will be in vain. What you eat can really help or sabotage your weight loss efforts. If you rarely choose water over flavor before you commit to cardio why would you do it afterwards?? You won’t!! So before you make a decision to begin working out make sure your weight loss equation is not missing a healthy diet!!

In the past I’ve had gym memberships that were short-lived, so when my gym membership ceased to exist so did my exercising. And when we fail to exercise there are some obvious things that happen to the body and some not so obvious things that happen. It is obvious and a known fact that you will gain weight if you don’t work out. And of course there are some quick fixes for that, that involves liposuction or body wraps for instance. But for all of you Quick Fix Advocates, what does these quick fixes  do for your metabolism or your heart or lungs, does it prevent osteoporosis because you are building up muscle, is it a stress reliever, or can it decrease depression?????? The answer is no!!! These quick fixes could never replace exercise even if they tried, because it’s not just about losing weight, even though that is a benefit of it, it’s about the overall health of your entire body. So don’t try to replace exercise because it’s impossible!!!

When I committed to doing cardio I started off going to the track (free of charge) several times a week. Eventually after we moved I was always standing and moving at my new job, not to mention the eight flights of stairs I would go up and down twice a day, at least four times a week. Of course since cardio has many forms I began to lose more weight at this point but I was still missing something, and that something was repetition in the form of an exercise regimen. Well after I received one of the best gifts ever, an ELLIPTICAL, my life and body has never been the same. I practically lived on that thing and it gave me two things that I needed, cardio and a count of the calories I burned during each session. Overtime I began to increase the calories I burned which caused me to lose weight faster.  *Keep in mind that you can’t spot burn fat, the fat will come off wherever it wants to so be patient.

So I encourage you, make sure your healthy lifestyle equation is complete with a healthy diet and cardio. Be patient–it took time to put on the pounds so it will take time, patience, effort, and repetition to get it off. Keep in mind that you don’t need a membership to exercise, buy an elliptical or go to a track. Quick fixes should and could never replace exercise! And finally remember that CARDIO WORKS—SO JUST DO IT!!!

If you have any questions or comments you can post them below I would love to hear from you!

I hope that this tip will help you on your journey to a healthier you! Until next time ;)!

Leave a Reply

