Do Yourself a Favor, Choose Water over Flavor

283_18225166763_3157_n

Welcome back everyone! Today I wanted to share with you a tip for losing weight that tends to be over looked or just plain forgotten about. Some people get so caught up in wanting to lose weight that they forget about the basics. The basics involve what you’re drinking. If you’ve incorporated my previous weight loss tip (Calorie Counting) you’ve already begun to realize that 8 ounces of some drinks are not worth HUNDREDS of CALORIES! So if you want a natural way to increase your metabolism and regulate your appetite, thus causing you to lose weight, DRINK WATER (allaboutwater.org, 2004)! Making water your drink of choice will benefit your weight and your overall health! Rather you’re on a journey to weight loss or trying to maintain your weight, by applying this tip your body will surely reap the benefits! So let’s begin!

In my house I’m known as the Water Police, Water Girl, have you drunk enough water today Stalker! But I wasn’t always this way; as a matter of fact I was quite the contrary! Drinking water was not what I did because at times it would take me to get to the point of severe dehydration just to sip on some water! You would think that after drinking a liquid laxative, in order to lose weight, that I would resort to drinking water but no I would much rather drink sprite (probably because it was clear..lol)! I have No Doubt that my late night trips to grab a banana shake from Checkers and all the other calorie filled drinks I consumed helped make me the person you see in the picture above.

Obviously I was really ignorant to the role that water played in my body, and how it accounts for over half of our body weight, and what that actually meant. So to put this in perspective, our body has an account, similar to a bank account, but instead of it being filled with money it’s filled with water. If water is taken out of our body’s account it needs to be replaced or replenished, and if our account is in the negative we will become dehydrated. According to the Mayo Clinic, every day we lose water through our breath, perspiration, urine and bowel movements, so in order for our bodies to function properly, we must replenish its water supply by consuming beverages and foods that contain water (2011). So don’t get so caught up in loving flavor that you forget that your body NEEDS water!

Increasing my water intake to a gallon a day was one of the first things I did in order to lose weight; this lasted for about a week because that was an EXTREME commitment. So instead I strived for at least 8-10 glasses of water a day and I made note of each glass I drank. So by not drinking my calories I took in fewer calories (weight loss) and I had more calories for food. Now, I find it helpful to have a water filter in order to have constant access to water at home and to have bottles of water for me to take on-the-go.

Initially, drinking water may feel like a chore but if you stick to it, it will become a regular part of your lifestyle! Obviously the extra trips to the bathroom will take some getting used to, but that’s just one way God designed our bodies to flush out toxins and waste products.

So I encourage you to drink more water, keep your water account full, and consider buying a water filter to help you do this. The benefits are immense, so do yourself a favor and choose water over flavor!

Be sure to complete the poll below and if you have any questions or comments be sure to post them as well!

I hope that this tip will help you on your journey to a healthier you!  Until next time 😉

References

All about water .org (2004). 10 Reasons to drink water. Retrieved from http://www.allaboutwater.org/drink-water.html

Mayo Clinic. (2011). Water: How much should you drink every day? Retrieved from http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/water/NU00283

4 thoughts on “Do Yourself a Favor, Choose Water over Flavor

  1. Pingback: Which would you choose? | Artsy Wanderer

  2. Pingback: 6 Tips to reach your daily water intake | Mom Tipy

  3. Pingback: A New Way of Doing Things: Looking after myself too | The Urban Daddy

Leave a Reply

